5 Things That Happen When You Quit Eating Sugar

5 Things That Happen When You Quit Eating SugarImage – © Eat Local Grown
 The history of sugar was fascinating and scary, reading like some sort of historical drug war account – linking the history of refined sugar directly to the African slave trade (slaves were imported specifically to work on the sugar plantations). But what was most surprising was that McKenna pointed out that sugar was in fact a drug– and a particularly insidious one. I had not thought of it this way before – but I had to agree: It’s addictive, bad for your health and causes changes to the mind and body (have you seen kids after eating too much sugar?).
McKenna’s perspective was enlightening – and so, long story short, I gave up sugar. To start with, I didn’t feel that much different. I was young and in pretty good health already. Perhaps subtly “cleaner” inside. It was only when I ate something very sweet after having not eaten any refined sugar for ages that I really felt the effects of sugar on my system. It was awful.
Fast forward to today: I’m still off the sugar (apart from a very occasional slice of cake) and feel all the better for it. My teeth are great, stomach perfectly flat and I’m sure the bacteria in my body are in much better balance without sugar.
If this doesn’t convince you – just look at the string of positive comments on Eat Local Grown’s page, from people saying that giving up sugar changed their life…
اترك رد

